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Crime Victims’ Compensation 
Financial help for crime victims and survivors 

The Crime Victims’ Compensation (CVC) program provides financial help to people who have 
been the victim of a violent crime in Oregon. Crimes that may qualify for compensation include 
domestic violence, sexual assault, child abuse, robbery, assault, homicide, or other crimes that 
cause physical or psychological injury.  

CVC’s mission is to ease the financial impact of violent crimes on victims, survivors, and 
their families. 

What Does CVC Pay For?  
We pay for reasonable crime-related expenses, including:  

• Up to $20,000 for medical and counseling services 
o In cases of child sex abuse, counseling compensation can include counseling for 

the victim’s family. 

• Up to $20,000 for grief counseling for survivors of a deceased victim 
• Documented loss of earnings or support, up to $400/week for a maximum of $20,000 or 

$600/week for crimes occurring after January 1, 2018 
• Funeral expenses up to $5,000 
• Rehabilitation services, such as physical therapy, up to $4,000 
• Reimbursement of mileage (30¢ per mile) for travel to medical and mental health 

treatment, up to $3,000  
o Mileage reimbursement is available only when someone must travel more than 

60 miles roundtrip and there are no closer services.   

• Up to $10,000 for counseling for children who witness domestic violence 
• Up to $1,000 for counseling for family members of an Oregon resident who is a victim of 

international terrorism 
• Up to $500 for counseling for friends or acquaintances of a deceased victim who 

discover the deceased victim’s body 

Am I Eligible for CVC?  
To receive financial help from CVC, you must:  

1. Be a victim of a compensable crime that happened in Oregon.  
Compensable crime means an intentional, reckless, or criminal act (not an accident) by 
a person that causes the injury or death of another person.  

2. Report the crime to the appropriate law enforcement officials within 72 hours.* 



2 
 

Oregon Department of Justice 
Crime Victim and Survivor Services Division  
Every victim, every crime, every right, every t ime. 

 
3. Cooperate with law enforcement. (This requirement is waived in cases of sex abuse, 

sexual assault, domestic violence, or stalking.)* 

4. Apply within 1 year of the crime.* 

*These requirements may be waived for good cause. 

Compensation for Counseling Only 
Victims of sexual assault, domestic violence, stalking, or human trafficking who do not meet all 
eligibility requirements may still qualify for compensation for counseling expenses. Look for the 
Counseling Only application in the CVC Portal or at doj.state.or.us/compensation.

You are not eligible for CVC compensation if: 

• The injury or death resulted from your own criminal conduct.  
• The crime involved only property damage or loss. 
• The injury or death resulted from a noncriminal event (an accident). 
• The crime occurred before CVC became effective in January 1978. 

Processing of an application will be deferred if: 

• You are incarcerated. 
• You owe money as a result of a criminal conviction for a violent crime. 

How Do I Submit an Application?  
You can apply online, on paper, or in person.  

• Apply online at the CVC Portal: doj.state.or.us/cvcportal
• Download a printable application form at doj.state.or.us/compensation

Send or email the completed application to: 

Crime Victim and Survivor Services Division 
1162 Court Street NE, Salem, OR 97301–4096 
Telephone: 503–378–5348 
Fax: 503–378–5738 
Email: cvssd@doj.state.or.us

• Apply at your local District Attorney’s Office Victim Assistance Program. 

What Happens When I Submit an Application?  
When CVC receives an application, we review police reports, medical charts, and any other 
information to determine if you are eligible for CVC benefits. We notify you by mail or email 
when we receive your application, and then again in 60 to 90 days to tell you our claim 
decision.  

https://www.doj.state.or.us/compensation
https://doj.state.or.us/cvcportal
http://www.doj.state.or.us/compensation
mailto:cvssd@doj.state.or.us
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Other Compensation  
If you have other benefits available (health insurance, auto insurance, workers compensation, or 
medical disability), you must use those before we will pay expenses. CVC will pay for copays, 
deductibles, and crime-related treatment that insurance does not cover.  

If you receive crime-related money later (such as restitution or lawsuit settlements) for the same 
services CVC has paid for, you must pay back to CVC any money that was paid to you. 

Contact Us 
Crime Victim and Survivor Services Division 
Oregon Department of Justice 
1162 Court St. NE 
Salem, OR  97301 

Phone: 503–378–5348 or 1–800–503–7983 

Fax: 503–378–5738 

Website: doj.state.or.us/victims 

Crime Victims’ Compensation Portal: doj.state.or.us/cvcportal

Email: cvssd@doj.state.or.us

Accessible Materials 
To learn about other ways to access this information and CVSSD programs, contact us.  

Email: cvssd@doj.state.or.us

Call: 503–378–5348 or 1–800–503–7983 
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